Driving Safety Course / Defensive Driving
If you are charged with a traffic offense under the Subtitle C, Transportation Code, you may request to take a Driving Safety Course to result in a dismissal of the charge. The offense must be eligible; you cannot take more than one DSC every 12 months; and you cannot hold (or have held at the time of the offense) a CDL.
REQUEST DSC ONLINE
Request Driver's Safety Here
REQUEST DSC BY MAIL
In order to request your Driving Safety Course by mail, you are required to submit the following (MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE COURT WITHIN 20 DAYS OF THE VIOLATION):
- Submit a valid Texas Driver's License.
- Provide proof of valid financial responsibility with your name as a listed driver.
- Submit a cashier's check or money order, made payable to the Rollingwood Municipal Court, in the amount of the appropriate court fees: $109.00.
- Submit a written request to take a Driving Safety Course (located on the back of your citation).
- Enter a plea of guilty or no contest (located on the back of your citation).
Your request must be received or post marked prior to the scheduled appearance date listed on your citation. Once you are approved by the Municipal Court, you will receive a confirmation letter or email along with further instructions for completing your requirements.
Your Driving Safety confirmation letter will include the following:
- Your due date to complete the Driving Safety Course (90 day period), the court does not give extensions.
- A website for the Texas Education Agency "T.E.A."
- Instructions for requesting your certified driving record (3A) from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
- It is your responsibility to sign up for a course once you received your confirmation. You may take it online in a classroom or by video.
If you complete and submit a uniformed certificate of a driving safety course and a certified driving record from DPS (Form 3A or Form 3) NO LATER THAN your 90 days, the charge against you will be dismissed.
FAILURE TO COMPLYIf you fail to present to this court, your proof of a uniformed certificate of a driving safety course and a certified driving record within the 90 days, the court will require your appearance at a show cause hearing that will be mailed to you at the last known address the court has on file or you may pay the balance owed but it will then result as a conviction on my driving record.
If you fail to appear at the show cause hearing, the court will impose the fine, enter a conviction and a capias pro-fine warrant will be issued for your arrest without further notice.